All License Activation Keys have expiration dates. If your license key expires, no data will be lost, but your instance may revert to the Community Edition and you could lose access to enterprise features (such as user access control).
In order to activate additional enterprise security and functionality features, please do the following:
Admin > Engine > Activation
You are now upgraded!