On this page

    Roles

    Roles are groups of privileges that can be applied to users as needed. Roles are used to organize privileges at scale rather than managing privileges for each individual user (also called members). You can define roles based on the types of users in your organization. For example, an Analyst and Security_Admin roles can be created to manage privileges for a users with different functions.

    Predefined Roles

    Dremio has predefined roles that can be used to manage privileges. The privileges for these roles are immutable by users.

    ADMIN

    The ADMIN role is designed for administrative users that require super/global access. Users who are assigned this role are granted every privilege across all objects.

    note:

    The first user in an organization is automatically assigned the ADMIN role.

    PUBLIC

    The PUBLIC role is assigned by default to all new users added to the organization. This role grants the following privileges:

    SELECT and ALTER privileges are not granted for any sources and must be manually assigned by a user with the ADMIN role.

    Viewing All Roles

    The Roles screen may be found by navigating to Settings > Organization Settings > Roles.

    Creating a Custom Role

    To create a custom role:

    1. Navigate to Settings > Organization Settings > Roles.
    2. Click the Create Role button at the top-right corner of the screen. This launches the Create Role modal.
    3. For Name, enter the name to associate with the role, such as the position title or employee type that will be associated with the role.
    4. (Optional) For Description, provide any details regarding the purpose of the role or its associated privileges.
    5. Click Save.

    Editing a Custom Role

    To edit a custom role:

    1. Navigate to Settings > Organization Settings > Roles.
    2. Click on the role name or the Edit button (pencil) under the Actions column for the desired row. This launches the Roles screen.
    3. Make any desired changes, such as adding or removing a child role and adding or removing a member.
    4. Click Save.

    Removing a Custom Role

    To remove a custom role:

    1. Navigate to Settings > Organization Settings > Roles.
    2. Click the Delete icon (circle) under the Actions column for the desired row.
    3. Dremio will prompt you to confirm the action.

    Once confirmed, the role is deleted and cannot be retrieved.

    Adding a Child Role

    Perform the following steps to add a child role to an existing role:

    1. Navigate to Settings > Organization Settings > Roles.
    2. Click on the role name or the Edit button (pencil) under the Actions column for the desired row. This launches the Roles screen.
    3. Click the Roles tab.
    4. Click the drop-down multi-select field and either select the desired role listed or enter a value to search for.
    5. Click Add Role when you have selected the desired entry/entries. When a sub-role is added, it will display below the drop-down in a list.
    6. Click Save.

    The child role appears in the table along the left side of the screen.

    Removing a Child Role

    Perform the following steps to remove a child role from an existing role:

    1. Navigate to Settings > Organization Settings > Roles.
    2. Click on the role name or the Edit button (pencil) under the Actions column for the desired row. This launches the Roles screen.
    3. Click the Roles tab.
    4. Click the Delete icon (circle) under the Actions column for the desired role.
    5. Click Save.

    Adding a Member

    Perform the following steps to add a member to an existing role:

    1. Navigate to Settings > Organization Settings > Roles.
    2. Click on the role name or the Edit button (pencil) under the Actions column for the desired row. This launches the Roles screen.
    3. Click the Members tab.
    4. Click the drop-down multi-select field and either select the desired user (listed by email address) or enter an email address to search for.
    5. Click Add User when you have selected the desired entry/entries. When a member is added, it will display below the drop-down in a list.
    6. Click Save.

    Removing a Member

    Perform the following steps to remove a member from an existing role:

    1. Navigate to Settings > Organization Settings > Roles.
    2. Click on the role name or the Edit button (pencil) under the Actions column for the desired row. This launches the Roles screen.
    3. Click the Members tab.
    4. Click the Delete icon (circle) under the Actions column for the desired user.
    5. Click Save.

    This removes them as a member of this role, and they will no longer possess the privileges associated with that role. However, the user still retains privileges associated with any other roles they’ve been added as members to.